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PROTESTS GFS  

TWILIGHT SERIES, SUMMER, RACE 4, BLACK DIVISION 6 -20 January 

2016 

IRUKANDJI and JACKPOT, CONQUISTA 

JACKPOT and IRUKANDJI 

These protests were heard on 28 January 2016  

Committee  

Michael Murphy, chairman 

Alan Bull, and 

Graeme Davey 

Parties  

Paul Stubbs, skipper of Irukandji, 

Adrian Van Bellen, skipper of Jackpot 

Robert Hale, skipper of Conquista  

Witnesses and exhibits 

Evidence was also given by 

Stephen Nash (co owner and crew on Irukandji), called by Irukandji, and, 

Ian Creak (skipper of Ausreo) and Michael Armati (mainsheet hand on Jackpot), called by Jackpot 

The committee was assisted by; 

 A video taken from a camera attached to the boom of Irukandji and by still photos taken from the 

video.   

A chart from the GPS of Irukandji showing the course of Irukandji before and after the start 

Informing the protestee 

Both Irukandji and Jackpot displayed a red flag and hailed “Protest” in compliance with rule 61 

Events 

In the twilight race on 20 January 2016 all three boats that are parties in these protests were 

approaching the start line in the Black Division race.  Another boat, Ausreo in black division was 

approaching with them.  The other boats in Black Division were clear of them and not involved in 

these incidents. 
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The start line is from the GFS clubhouse in Greenwich generally South West to a buoy close to the 

Woolwich shore. 

The wind was thought by some witnesses to be NNE and others thought it was more E, but this does 

not affect the outcome. 

In the few minutes before the start at 6.10pm Jackpot was approaching the start line on port tack, 

close hauled and would pass close to the buoy.  She had luffed up to lose speed and not cross early. 

Irukandji, Conquista and Ausreo were all reaching on a port tack towards the buoy end of the start 

line, but on slightly different courses.  Conquista sailed across the bows of Irukandji, and then turned 

downwind and was then on a course parallel to Irukandji.   

Paul Stubbs said he believed there was room for Irukandji between Conquista and Jackpot because 

he expected Jackpot to turn downwind as soon as she started.  That would have put Jackpot on a 

course similar to Conquista and Irukandji and avoided a collision.   In the event Jackpot did not clear 

the starting buoy soon enough, and by the time she did events had become more difficult because 

Ausreo had sailed in between Jackpot and Irukandji which gave Jackpot less or no room to move.   

Ausreo was sailing between Jackpot and Irukandji and clear of both. Initially Ausreo was behind the 

other three boats and only became overlapped between Irukandji and Jackpot in the last stages 

before the collisions.  Ausreo could see that the other three boats were converging and its decision 

to sail into the gap would contribute to a collision unless Conquista and Irukandji were able to, and 

did, move up and give Ausreo room.  In the event they could not move up sufficiently because of the 

proximity between them. 

The courses of all four boats were such that they were converging and would meet on the start line 

close to the buoy, unless some or all changed course.  Initially all boats thought there was enough 

room to cross the start line. 

Jackpot was moving slowly as it was so close to the wind, and Conquista was slower than Irukandji 

and Ausreo. 

As they came close to the start Jackpot called on Ausreo to go up and keep clear, Ausreo called on 

Irukandji to go up and keep clear, and Irukandji called on Conquista to go up and keep clear.   

Robert Hale from Conquista said he had been unaware that Irukandji was to leeward and overlapped 

with him until he heard these calls. When he looked around he saw Irukandji’s bow overlapping 

Conquista by about 1.5 m and about 1.5 m to leeward.  Stephen Nash from Irukindji thought the 

distance to leeward of Irukindji’s bow from Conquister’s stern at the time of the calls was 2 to 3 m.  

Paul Stubbs thought there was sufficient distance for Conquista to be keeping clear, but agreed the 

distance was not large. 

Robert Hale said when the calls came he tried to steer up to port and give more room, but could not 

move far because he would have turned his stern into Irukandji’s bow. Paul Stubbs said he tried to 

steer up, but could not move far because he would have hit Conquista’s stern.  He was also limited 

by the need to give Conquista room to turn up to port. In fact the stern of Conquista touched 

Irukandji’s bow as both boats tried to avoid Ausreo and Jackpot. 
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As the four boats went over the line and started, they converged.  Ausreo collided with Jackpot near 

its stern and then collided with Irukandji.  Irukandji then collided with jackpot. Conquista sailed past, 

and apart from the touch with Irukandji seconds earlier was not involved in the main collision. 

Before dealing with rule 11, “On the same tack, overlapped” it is necessary to consider a submission 

made by Irukandji.  In Paul Stubbs view Jackpot, just before the collision, had passed through head 

to wind and was on a starboard tack.  Under rule 13, if Jackpot had passed head to wind it was 

obligated to keep clear of the other boats.  Stephen Nash agreed but was not as sure.  The video 

showed Jackpot’s genoa clearly backwinded just before the collisions 

Adrian Van Bellen was sure he had not tacked and had not passed through head to wind.  He had not 

realised his genoa had backwinded until he saw the video and thought the backwinded genoa was 

from local turbulence with the boats together, or that the collision with Ausreo had pushed Jackpot 

off course.  Michael Armati was mainsheet hand on Jackpot and was sure the main sail had not 

backwinded and had continued to draw on a port tack until the collision. 

In this conflict of evidence the Committee accepts there was no reason for Jackpot to turn through 

head to wind, and accepts the evidence of Michael Armati. He was closest and had the clear view of 

the main which continued to set on a port tack.  The committee accepts Jackpot did not pass head to 

wind. 

The question arises under rule 14 whether Jackpot avoided contact with the other boats.  There was 

damage to Irukandji so that 14 (b) does not apply.  Adrian Van Bellen said that when he realised 

Irukandji was not going to turn up and give him room, he was travelling too slowly to avoid a 

collision and that he had not cleared the start line buoy.  The committee does not accept that 

avoiding the buoy would justify a collision. It is also aware that at the time where Jackpot would 

have realised Irukandji was not going to keep clear, Ausreo was hard on its windward stern and any 

change of course would have caused or aggravated the impending collision with Ausreo.  This was a 

closely discussed point, and Jackpot may not have done as much as it could to avoid a collision.  

However there was insufficient evidence to conclude that this was so.   

The committee, by majority accepts that Jackpot did not have the opportunity to turn to starboard 

and avoid a collision with Irukandji. 

Facts found 

In the short period before starting Jackpot was to leeward of Ausreo.  Ausreo was to leeward of 

Irukandji.  Irukandji was to leeward of Conquista.  All boats were overlapped and on port tack. 

When Irukandji gained an overlap to leeward of Conquista there was insufficient room for Conquista 

to keep clear of Irukandji and when Jackpot called for room seconds later the two boats could not 

turn up sufficiently to avoid a collision. 

Jackpot did not pass head to wind prior to the collision. 

When Jackpot realised the other boats were not going to keep clear, she did not have the 

opportunity to steer away and avoid a collision.  Her slow speed and the presence of Ausreo on her 

stern prevented any successful action.  
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Ausreo is not a party to these protests and no finding is made as to whether she broke rule 11 or 

was exonerated while doing so. 

Irukandji did not keep clear of Jackpot and broke rule 11.  Irukandji did not give Conquista room to 

keep clear when Irukandji gained the overlap to leeward of Conquista, and broke rule 15.  At the 

time Ausreo gained an overlap with Irukandji there was not room or opportunity for Irukandji to 

keep clear of Ausreo.  Had Ausreo protested Irukandji would have been exonerated under rule 64.1 

(a) 

Conquista did not keep clear of Irukandji, Ausreo and Jackpot, but was unable to do so because of 

the close presence of Irukandji on her windward stern from the time the overlap with Irukandji was 

established.  This limited Conquista’s ability to turn up.  Conquista broke rule 11 but is exonerated by 

rule 64.1 (a). 

Decisions and penalties 

The protest by Irukandji against Jackpot is dismissed. 

The protest by Irukandji against Conquista is dismissed. 

The protest by Jackpot against Irukandji is upheld and Irukandji is disqualified. 

 

 

 

Michael Murphy. Protest Committee chairman 

30 January 2016 


