NEW YORK (Feb. 9, 2021)—An extraordinary group of sailors have been named winners of the Cruising Club of America most prestigious annual awards: Christian Charalambous, of Australia, receives the Rod Stephens Seamanship Trophy; Calypso Romero and Adrien Koller, of Ushuaia, Argentina, the Young Voyager Award; and UK sailor Stephen Brown, of Carleon, South Wales, the Far Horizons Award. In January, the recipient of the CCA’s iconic Blue Water Medal was announced as Randall Reeves, of Oakland, California.

Christian Charalambous, of Sydney, Australia earns the Rod Stephens Seamanship Trophy for heroic actions after the yacht Showtime inverted upon losing its keel on a very rough night in the Tasman Sea. Aboard the boat as one of its delivery crew members, Charalambous dove under the boat despite the dangerous wave conditions and used a knife to free the life raft, thereby saving the entire crew.

Congratulations Christian

Comments are closed.

 GFS SailPass
 GFS SailPass

Crew List
- here

GFS Facebook Group