The presentation of first place Australia Day Regatta medallions took place at Sydney Town Hall on Tuesday March 28. The function was hosted by Deputy Lord Mayor Professor Kerryn Phelps AM in a convivial atmosphere.


It was pleasing to see a good contingent of GFS members on hand to collect their medallions. Both Sabot 1-up winner Alex Drew and the Sabot 2-up skipper Matt Haywood and crew Joseph Morton were in attendance. Australian Sailing President Matt Allen emphasised the importance of junior members as the grass roots and future of sailing.


Other GFS sailors in attendance were Graeme and Ann Davey, Jim Lelliott, Pam Joy, Lesley Barr, John Amos and Mike Wise (pictured) representing both Twilight and Saturday divisions.


The function highlighted the range of diverse sailing activities held to commemorate Australia Day not only in the designated harbour regatta but in wide ranging areas such as Lake Illawarra, Wangi, Botany Bay and Pittwater. Boats represented at events included ocean racing yachts, various mixed classes of yachts, trailable yachts, classic yachts, modern and historic skiffs, a huge range of other dinghy classes including Lasers and Sabots and radio controlled yachts.

Comments are closed.

 GFS SailPass
 GFS SailPass

Crew List
- here

GFS Facebook Group